Did you know you can become a teacher inTexaswithout a typical degree? So, if you are certified in a trade such as plumbing or cosmetology, you can become a Texas teacher. Owing to a rise in demand forCareer and Technical Educationteachers, aspirants can now become teachers inTexaswithout a bachelor’s degree. Traditionally, a candidate needs to fulfill either of these two criteria to qualify: Typically a bachelor’s degree and certification program is required. However, there is an exception. For example, if you are licensed inthe trade occupationsbelow and have worked 5 years full time earning wages within the past ten years, you can earn a CTE certificate in that field by enrolling in an Alternative Certification Program in Texas.
Become a teacher in Texas with a Career, Trade or Industrial License
|Statement of Qualifications||Degree Minimum||Wage Earning Experience||Within|
|Marketing||Bachelors||2 years full time experience||Past 10 years|
|Health Science||Associates||2 years full time experience||Past 10 years|
|Other: CTE (Career, Trade & Industrial||High School Diploma||5 years full time experience||Past 10 years|
Air Conditioning & Refrigeration
Audio, Video Technology
|Engineering and Technology|
Fundamentals of Fire Protection
Government and Public Administration
|Auto Collision Repair|
Business Machine Repair
|Hydraulics and Pneumatics|
Industrial Equipment Repair
Law Enforcement/Criminal Justice
|Small Engine Repair|
Stationary Energy Sources
Welding / Construction
Cement Laying and Finishing
Cleaning and Pressing
Computer Maintenance Technician
|Major Appliance Repair|
Marine related Occupations
|Painting and Decorating|
Petro Chemical Lab Technician
Welders, barbers and mechanics are becoming Texas teachers
To begin with, a great number of people become teachers for the hours and the health and retirement benefits. A career change is necessary at some point sometimes. So, if you are a licensed welder, you can become a CTE teacher. A career change may help maintain lifelong benefits after retirement. It’s a win-win solution. Texas needs teachers and people need benefits. The state of Texas is dynamic and has a teacher shortage.
More and more, the desire to maintain excellent health benefits and lifelong retirement benefits guides Texans to the world of teaching. It is a quality of life initiative. Perhaps during the weekends and the summers off from teaching you can use your other skills to maintain employment. A welder can use a license to enroll in an alternative certification program. The welder must meet all other requirements, become a teacher in that field and work part time during the summer and weekends as a welder. It’s a win-win for Texas and a win-win for you.
READ|Is the minimum wage going up in Texas
Compare Top 5 Alternative Certification Programs in Texas
Self Pace or 6 weeks
2.5 min GPA
Pay $99 a month until you begin 2 semester field experience. Remaining balance is divided into 10 interest-free monthly payments.
Self Pace or up to 1 year
Deferred Flex pay during paid internship
Enrollment Fee: $149
Self Pace or 14 weeks
2.5 min GPA
Deferred Flex Pay during paid internship
3 to 12 months
2.6 min GPA
Deferred Flex Pay during paid internship
Texas Teachers of Tomorrow
Self Pace or 12 weeks
2.5 min GPA
Deferred Flex Pay during paid internship
Enroll in an Alternative Certification Program in Texas with a CTE License
How do I become a teacher in Texas with a foreign degree?
1. Create a Texas Education Agency Login (TEAL) account. 2. Submit original course-wise evaluation by a foreign evaluation service recognized by the TEA. 3. Submit a written statement from the foreign country’s licensing agency. 4. Submit proof of English language proficiency, both oral and written. 5. If an aspirant holds a degree from a country outside of the United States and its territories, they need to first apply for a review of their degree and other credentials.See the list of foreign credential evaluation which are recognized by the aTexas Education Agency.
What are the top five alternative teacher certification programs in Texas?
1.iteachTexas* minimum GPA 2.5 required 2.240 Certification* minimum GPA 2.5 required 3.Web-Centric Alternative Certification Program* minimum GPA 2.5 required 4.ECAP – Education Career Alternative Program*Minimum 2.6 GPA posted on official transcript from accredited institution *Minimum 2.5 GPA in all coursework associated with the area of certification applied. This program provides certification fromONLINEandIN CLASSROOMcoursework. 5.Texas Teachers of Tomorrow* minimum GPA 2.5. Alternatively, if your GPA is 2.3-2.49, you can take a Pre-Admission Content Test (PACT) to qualify.
How do I become a Spanish teacher in Texas?
Spanish language teachers looking towork in elementary, middle, and high schools across the state of Texas undergo the following processes: 1.Obtain a Bachelor’sDegree in Spanish: The school chosen by the candidate must be accredited with a state-recognized body. 2.Educator Preparation Program (EPP):To enrol with an EPP, candidates have to qualify the PACT, having a minimum GPA of 2.5. 3. Teaching internship: Teaching internships, which are usually a part ofEPP, form a crucial aspect of the process. 4. Meet exam requirements: Before candidates apply for theTExES, they have to fulfil all criteria put forth by the state body administering the test, the TEA. 5. Qualifying the certifying exam: In order to become a Spanish teacher in the state of Texas, candidates need to take two exams:TExES PPR and LOTE.6. Fingerprinting: After first-time candidates pass the test, they need to go through a background check.
What are the requirements to become a substitute teacher in Texas?
According to the Texas Education Agency, candidates applying to become asubstitute teachermust have 60 college hours (or more) or a bachelor’s degree from a TEA recognized institution.This may vary with Independent School districts. Spring ISD’S requirements include a bachelor’s degree or at least 48 college credit hours. The applicant may also submit a Substitute Teacher Certification from an accredited Texas entity or Service Center. A certification to substitute teach in Texas is not a general requirement.
What are the requirements to teach High School in Texas?
In order tobecome a high school teacherin the state of Texas, a candidate needs to obtain a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college and then finish an appropriate state approved teacher preparation program. Additionally, they need to qualify the certification exam(s) for Texas, in the subject areas they will be teaching. After the successful completion of these, the candidate can apply for a certificate to the state, undergo required background check, and subsequently apply for jobs in schools.
What are the requirements to teach Elementary School in Texas?
To be an elementary teacher in the state of Texas, a candidate needs to hold a bachelor’s degree in any discipline. They must also graduate from a TEA approved teacher preparation program. Once these requirements are met, they need to pass an exam for elementary instruction and for the subjects they will be teaching. Lastly, the candidate must complete the Texas application for certification and undergo anational criminal background check.
Where can I find the best Texas Teacher Educational Resources?
Learners Edge– This provides a wealth of information regarding Online Continuing Education Programs for Texas teachers.ReadWriteThink.org– this link provides lesson plans and classroom activities for Texas teachers.Crash Course– this link provides popular and relevant animated educational videos for Texas teachers.Teaching Channel– links to 1400 videos for teachers.
Who is hiring classroom Teachers in Texas?
School Spring– this link provides all areas of Texas educator positions. Filter by zip code, type of educational position, grade level and keywords TeachingJobs.com– this awesome link provides quick links to STEM, SPECIAL ED and SUBSTITUTE jobs in TexasIndeed.com– this world famous link is filtered for teaching jobs in TexasK12Jobspot– this user friendly site allows you to filter by position area (area of teaching), grade level and job type (full, part time or seasonal) in Texas
Am I required to detect and educate students with dyslexia?
Yes.TAC Rule 228.35 (4)requires all candidates completing an Educator Preparation Program must receive instructions.
What are the most in demand teaching jobs in Texas?
Currently the most in demand are Bilingual (English as a second language), STEM and Special Education.
Complete anEducator Preparation Program in Texas
To begin with, the amount of time it takes a candidate to obtain a teaching certificate is unique to everyone and is based on their transcripts and test scores. Prior teaching experience and similar internships are also an essential part of the process. On average, getting a teaching certificate in the state of Texas takes around 5 years which includes the time to complete one’s bachelor’s degree.
Usually, a bachelor’s degree is of four years. However, the candidate does not require a degree focused on education. They can choose to get their bachelor’s in any field of choice and then apply for an alternative teacher certification program.It is only after the completion of education, the candidate will be able to apply for a teaching certificate. First, they have to pass thePedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR)exam and then submit the required documentation. After a review of the application by the board, the candidate’s certificate is issued.
- Comple anEPPEducator Preparation Program – The candidate is first required to complete aTEA Approved Educator Preparation Program.
- Pass Certification Exams – The candidate has to pass the required teacher certification exams.
- Submit a State Application – They are then required to apply to be certified, granted all requirements are met. However, It is not advisable to apply until one has verified with their program that they are eligible.
- Complete Fingerprinting – Every first-time applicant has to mandatorily be fingerprinted as part of their criminal background check.
- Is NIO the next Tesla?
- How To Pass The Texas Driving Test
- GOP Leaving Good Soldier Behind
- How Texas Uses STAAR to Measure Academic Readiness
- How to become a paralegal in Texas
In Texas, you can become a teacher without a bachelor's degree. If you have at least 2-7 verifiable years of licensed work in a Trade and Industry field, there are many subject areas under Career & Technical Education (CTE) in which you can earn your online teacher certification.Do I need a degree to teach in Texas? ›
Prerequisite Coursework in Texas
In order to become certified to teach in Texas, teachers must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. Many states require that a specific number of credit hours be earned in the teaching specialty area.
To teach in the state of Texas, the certification process can take 4 to 6 months if you have a bachelor's degree. If you do not have a bachelor's degree, your work experience may still qualify you for an educator preparation program in which your timeline to certification would remain the same.How long does it take to become a teacher in Texas? ›
How long does it take to become a teacher in Texas? It takes roughly five years for aspiring teachers in Texas to achieve the certification they need to enter the field.What qualifications do you need to be a teacher in Texas? ›
- Obtain a Bachelor's Degree. You must earn a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. ...
- Complete an Educator Preparation Program. ...
- Pass Certification Exams. ...
- Submit a State Application. ...
- Complete Fingerprinting.
|Years of experience||Per hour|
|1 to 2 years||$32.48|
|3 to 5 years||-|
|6 to 9 years||$37.87|
|More than 10 years||$43.50|
The average salary for a elementary school teacher in Texas is $48,500 per year. Elementary school teacher salaries in Texas can vary between $19,500 to $61,000 and depend on various factors, including skills, experience, employer, bonuses, tips, and more.How much do subs make in Texas? ›
The average salary for a substitute teacher in Texas is $20,500 per year.Can you teach in Texas while getting certified? ›
Becoming a Certified Texas Educator Through an Alternative Certification Program. Alternative certification programs (ACP's) offer a nontraditional route to certification that may allow you to teach while completing the requirements.
Texas Teacher's Starting Salary for the 2022 to 2023 school year is between $50,000 and $65,000 for a beginning teacher with a bachelor's degree and no experience.What is a one year teaching certificate in Texas? ›
After a credential review, the Texas Education Agency may issue a One-Year teaching certificate, which is non-renewable. During the year the certificate is valid, teachers must complete the Texas teacher certification exams. For additional information on reciprocity refer to the Texas Education Agency website.How fast can you become a teacher? ›
How Fast Can You Become a Teacher? Becoming a teacher usually takes between four and five years. It is possible, however, to become certified to teach in only four years. This is accomplished by completing an accelerated program which completes the credentialing process within the four-year bachelor's degree.Do Texas teachers get paid well? ›
As of May 13, 2023, the average annual pay for a Teacher in Texas is $27,715 a year. Just in case you need a simple salary calculator, that works out to be approximately $13.32 an hour. This is the equivalent of $532/week or $2,309/month.Are teachers in demand in Texas? ›
While Texas and the rest of the country have dealt with teacher shortages for years, the pandemic exacerbated them. Shifting requirements on masking and the closure then reopening of schools have taken a toll on teachers.How fast can you finish Texas teachers? ›
Time to complete this education training ranges from 7.5 days to 1 year depending on the qualification, with a median time to complete of 3 months. The cost to attend Texas Teachers of Tomorrow ranges from $2,500 to $6,000 depending on the qualification, with a median cost of $4,000.Is Texas a good place to be a teacher? ›
The Lone Star state has always been a great place to make careers. With a great economy, very liberal laws and plenty of opportunities for young professionals, there are several reasons to become a teacher in Texas. Teaching at all levels is one of the most popular professions in the state.What are the benefits of being a teacher in Texas? ›
In addition to medical care, TRS offers teachers additional benefits such as dental, vision, and long-term disability insurance. Explore the TRS website for more information about the health benefits available to teachers.What GPA is needed for Texas teachers? ›
Higher Required GPA
Currently, Texas Teachers' candidates require a 2.5 GPA or higher for program admittance.
How much does an Entry Level Teacher make in Texas? The average Entry Level Teacher salary in Texas is $41,902 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $34,992 and $51,101.
- Mansfield ISD.
- Crowley ISD.
- Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD.
- Lackland ISD.
- Deer Park ISD.
- Grady ISD.
- Draw Academy.
- Academy for Academic Excellence.
Suburbs in Dallas-Fort Worth lead the way in salaries for new teachers. Grand Prairie ISD pays the highest salaries to new teachers in North Texas for the 2022-23 school year, according to a new study. GPISD pays $61,000 for first-year teachers, one of a dozen districts in the region to pay more than $60,000.What is the lowest teacher salary in Texas? ›
|10th Percentile Public School Teacher Salary||$38,031||TX|
|25th Percentile Public School Teacher Salary||$46,367||TX|
|50th Percentile Public School Teacher Salary||$55,523||TX|
|75th Percentile Public School Teacher Salary||$67,713||TX|
The states and districts that pay Elementary School Teachers the highest mean salary are New York ($87,700), California ($86,470), Massachusetts ($83,790), Washington ($83,010), and Connecticut ($82,140).How much do K12 teachers make in Texas? ›
How much does a K12 Teacher make in Texas? The average K12 Teacher salary in Texas is $58,022 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $48,454 and $70,760.Can you sub in Texas without a degree? ›
Do you have to have a degree to be a substitute teacher in Texas? No, although school districts in Texas require substitute teachers to possess a Bachelor's degree or an Associate's degree or at least several college credit hours. Some schools ask for substitute teacher training. Most trainings last for 7 or 8 hours.How much do substitute teachers make in Texas without a degree? ›
The salary range for a Full Time Substitute Teacher job is from $14 to $21 per hour in Texas.What is the highest paying substitute teacher job? ›
What is the highest-paid state for substitute teachers? The highest-paid state for substitute teachers is Alaska with an average salary of $39,750 per year. What city pays substitute teachers the most? San Francisco, CA pays substitute teachers the most with an average salary of $39,574 per year.What exams are required to teach in Texas? ›
All teachers in the state of Texas are required to pass the Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR) exam to receive a Standard Certificate. Texas Teachers will give you access to the online PPR review coursework, once you begin teaching on the Intern Certificate.How much does it cost to go to A+ Texas teachers? ›
The cost to attend A+ Texas Teachers ranges from $2,000 to $5,000 depending on the qualification, with a median cost of $3,000.
Candidates are limited to a total of 5 attempts to pass a certification examination under Texas Education Code §21.048.Is student teaching paid in Texas? ›
The salary range for a Student Teacher job is from $27,270 to $42,223 per year in Texas. Click on the filter to check out Student Teacher job salaries by hourly, weekly, biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, and yearly.How much does a elementary teacher make an hour in Texas? ›
|Years of experience||Per hour|
|1 to 2 years||$17.12|
|3 to 5 years||-|
|6 to 9 years||$20.00|
|More than 10 years||$23.90|
Mississippi has the lowest average teacher salary of $47,162, followed by South Dakota with $49,761. These are the only states with average teacher salaries under $50,000 a year. Other states with lower average teacher salaries are West Virginia, Florida, Louisiana, Missouri, and Arkansas.How long does it take to complete Texas teachers certification online? ›
How long does it take to become certified through online teachers programs? Teachers of Tomorrow is a fully online program, which allows you to take coursework and training at your own pace. This means that you can receive your online teacher certification within 9-12 months versus the traditional 4 years.How many days do teachers work in Texas? ›
Under Section 21.401 of the Texas Education Code, teacher contracts must be for a minimum of 187 days of service. Under Section 25.081, a school district must provide 180 days of instruction for students. How many of the remaining seven days are used for staff development is determined locally.How long does a Texas teaching license last? ›
If you hold a standard educator certificate you must renew it every five years.What is the easiest teacher to become? ›
- Math. Math is a subject that is mainly conceptual. ...
- Physical Education. If you're like most people, you probably dreaded having to go to gym class when you were in school. ...
- Art. ...
- Music. ...
- Language Arts. ...
- Science. ...
- Health. ...
The easiest way to become a teacher is by holding your bachelor's degree in any subject. If you do that, you are able to enroll in an alternative teacher certification program that will allow you to become a licensed teacher.What is the quickest program to become a teacher? ›
- Enroll in a One-year Master's Program. ...
- Pursue a Single-subject Teaching Degree. ...
- Obtain a School District Internship. ...
- Teach at a Private School. ...
- Complete the Core Curriculum of the Fast-track Certification Program. ...
- Apply for State Licensure for Teachers. ...
- Apply for Teaching Jobs.
Teachers are paid monthly . Twice a month.What teaching subject pays the most? ›
If you're a chemistry buff, you're in luck — chemistry is one of the highest-paid subjects to teach in high schools. Chemistry teachers typically major in chemistry or a related field during their undergraduate education.How much will I get at retirement as a teacher in Texas? ›
The Teacher Retirement System provides monthly payments to more than 475,000 retired Texas teachers. A report from the Texas American Federation of Teachers, a teacher union, found that the average monthly payment that the state's retired teachers receive is about $2,174.Why are so many teachers quitting in Texas? ›
Surveys and studies conducted since 2020 concluded that low pay, lack of respect (from parents, administrators, and elected officials), unrealistic workloads (including the focus on standardized test scores and required courses), and the erratic changes brought on by the pandemic are the most common reasons.What teachers are needed most in Texas? ›
Demand is particularly salient in disciplines that currently experience an inadequate supply of schoolteachers. According to TEA, for the 2020-21 school year the official teacher shortage content areas and disciplines in Texas include: Bilingual/English as a Second Language (elementary and secondary)What percent of teachers quit? ›
Nearly 37 percent of educators working with pre-K or high school students plan to leave, compared with just 28 percent of those working in elementary and middle schools.What is the 45 day rule for teachers in Texas? ›
Teachers are required to resign a contract no later than 45 days before the first day of instruction. A district may release a teacher voluntarily after that date, but is not compelled to do so.Do you need a 4 year degree to be a teacher in Texas? ›
Obtain a Bachelor's Degree - You must earn a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. Complete an Educator Preparation Program - You must complete an Approved Educator Preparation Program. If you do not hold a degree you must complete a university program.What is the average age of teachers in Texas? ›
|State||Average age of teachers||Female|
All teachers in the state of Texas are required to pass the Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR) exam to receive a Standard Certificate. Texas Teachers will give you access to the online PPR review coursework, once you begin teaching on the Intern Certificate.
How much does an Entry Level Teacher make in Texas? The average Entry Level Teacher salary in Texas is $41,902 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $34,992 and $51,101.What is the highest paid teacher in Texas? ›
- Mansfield ISD. ...
- Crowley ISD. ...
- Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD. ...
- Lackland ISD. ...
- Deer Park ISD. Average salary: $64,207 per year. ...
- Grady ISD. Average salary: $66,182 per year. ...
- Draw Academy. Average salary: $66,877 per year. ...
- Academy for Academic Excellence. Average salary: $86,618 per year.
The TExES has a passing rate of about 92%. Candidates should keep in mind that each subtest is different and will vary in difficulty. Preparation is the best way to avoid intimidation and achieve success on the TExES Exam.What is the minimum degree necessary to become a fully certified teacher in Texas? ›
Obtain a Bachelor's Degree - You must earn a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university. Complete an Educator Preparation Program - You must complete an Approved Educator Preparation Program. If you do not hold a degree you must complete a university program.What happens if you fail the TExES exam 5 times? ›
Waiver: If you do not pass an exam within FIVE (5) attempts, you may appeal for a waiver. This is processed through the State Board of Educator Certification (SBEC) for approval. Instructions are on the Texas Education Agency (TEA) website.